Me and my son BJ at his Graduation

Me and my son BJ at his Graduation

The guy who was responsible for me learning to sew

My son was 16 when I decided to buy a sewing machine and learn to sew. I always had interest because I watched my Grandma sew on her machine. She made it look effortless! Her machine was flawless; encased in this beautiful rich dark wood cabinet. I remember getting excited every time she opened the lid and lifted the sewing machine from its hidden compartment. I was very young and it almost seemed magical to me.

I don’t remember what she sewed; I just remember the flow of the fabric as it effortlessly went under the needle and out the back of the machine. The sound of the needle going up and down reminded me of the toy train that was around theĀ  Tree at Christmas time.

I always asked if I could help and she would tell me, when you get older I will teach you. Well, my grandma taught me how to crochet but didn’t get around to teaching me to sew. Somehow, I don’t think it was her favorite thing to do.

Deciding to get this sewing machine and not knowing a thing about it; I began to wonder what I was thinking. I read the manual, which seemed to be written in Greek. About the time I was ready to put the sewing machine back in the box and cart it back to the store my son BJ (16) came through the door and asked me what new toy I got and I said it’s a sewing machine and I haven’t a clue how to operate it.

So, he pulled it back out of the box and proceeded to show me how to thread the machine. I was amazed… to say the least. I asked him where did you learn this. He said Home Ec. I asked him what else he knew and he showed me how to oil the machine and take it apart and put it back together.

Now that was 10 years ago and I can show him a thing or 2. lol

Stay tuned for more! And I hope it wasn’t to awful boring…

Thanks for reading,

Kim

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

